
From a friendship turned sour to an annoying ex, there are plenty of people in your Facebook circle you might want to prevent from being able to see your activity. While shunning a person in real life requires a variety of tactics, blocking or unfriending a Facebook friend that’s fallen out of your favor can be quite simple. Use this guide to prevent unwelcome nosey parkers from snooping on your profile.
1. Navigate to your profile by tapping your name at the top right.

2. Scroll down to your Friends section at the left and click to open it.

MORE: 10 Weirdest Social Networks
3. Search for the offending frenemy.

4. Hold your cursor over that person’s name.

5. Hover over Friends in the balloon that appears. This will bring up a dropdown menu.

6. Click Report/Block from the dropdown menu.

7. Select Unfriend. You can also click Block or Unfollow on this pop-up, depending on your preference. Unfriending a person will remove him or her from your friends list and he or she won’t be able to post on your timeline or see anything that’s not public. If you want to un-do this, you’ll have to go about sending a new friend request. Sadly this will telegraph to them that you had unfriended them.

If you block someone, you won’t be able to see any hint of them, including comments your ex-friend makes on other people’s activity. But it’s easy to unblock them quickly if you regret your decision. You can Unfollow a person to stop seeing updates from them without completely cutting them out of your digital life.
8. Click Confirm > Okay.

NOTE: You can hide individual posts from a person from within the news feed. Simply click on the top right corner of any status update. Then click Hide.

Cherlynn joined the Laptopmag team in June 2013 and has since been writing about all things tech and digital with a focus on mobile and Internet software development. She also edits and reports occasionally on video. She graduated with a M.S. in Journalism (Broadcast) from Columbia University in May 2013 and has been designing personal websites since 2001.From Laptopmagazine. Product reviews and advice for best reference
Strikingly Free Strikingly makes building a slick-looking website a breeze. Its one-click feature, which takes content from your Facebook page and turns it into your personal website, is especially valuable.Download Now Buy Now
TimeRabbit ticks every second you're on Facebook.
TimeRabbit tallies your recent time on Facebook.
PhotoGrabber's list of Facebook friends and pages puts you first.
Every time you want to use the app, the developer's site generates an authentication token, which you must put into the app for it to work.
So you’ve finally taken the plunge, hitting the “Get the new Timeline” button that forever commits you to the new chronological-style Facebook profile. One of the major differences between Timeline and the old-school profile style is the addition of a cover photo. This is the first thing your friends will see when they view your profile, and it provides an opportunity to add a bit more personality than just that smaller-sized profile pic below.
But the design is just the beginning of the changes. We went hands-on with several of the new features.
